Student Profiles

Student award and scholarship recipients across the Division of Social Sciences share what UC Santa Cruz means to them, advice for fellow students, and plans for the future.

Questions? You can reach us at


2021-2022 Award Winners

  • Gypsy Alvarado Covarrubias

    Gypsy Alvarado Covarrubias

    Gypsy Alvarado Covarrubias is a recipient the 2021-2022 Gabriel Zimmerman Memorial Scholarship.
  • Nicole Britton

    Nicole Britton

    Nicole Britton is a recipient of the 2021-2022 Weiss Family Scholarship.
  • Rachel Heath

    Rachel Heath

    Rachel Heath is a recipient of the 2021-2022 Sabrina Greenfield Memorial Scholarship.

  • John Jezek

    John Jezek

    John Jezek is a recipient the 2021-2022 Dean’s Undergraduate Award.

  • Leigh Rodi

    Leigh Rodi

    Leigh Rodi is a recipient the 2021-2022 Dean’s Award.
  • Mary Shamon

    Mary Shamon

    Mary Shamon is a recipient of the 2021-2022 Rick Hooper Scholarship.
  • McKenna Smith

    McKenna Smith

    McKenna Smith is a recipient of the 2021-2022 Keeley Coastal Scholars Award.


  • Tamar Sasson

    Tamar Sasson

    Tamar Sasson is a recipient of the 2021-2022 Walsh Family Scholarship
  • Dana Tam

    Dana Tam

    Dana Tam is a recipient the 2021-2022 Walsh Family Scholarship.
  • Cearra Upton

    Cearra Upton

    Cearra Upton is a recipient the 2021-2022 Robert J. Shepherd Economics Accounting Path Scholarship.
  • Yehan Weerasuriya

    Yehan Weerasuriya

    Yehan Weerasuriya is a recipient of the 2021-2022 Robert J. Shepherd Economics Accounting Path Scholarship