Distinguished Social Sciences Emeriti Award

Professor Emerita of Psychology Catherine Cooper receives the 2017 Emeriti Award; with Dean Katharyne Michell and Campus Provost and Executive Vice Chancellor Marlene Tromp.

This prestigious award is an opportunity to honor eminent Social Sciences scholars, researchers, and instructors who continue to make major contributions in their fields as emeriti faculty.

The Division of Social Sciences boasts over 50 current emeriti faculty. The breadth of their interests, expertise, and involvement benefits not only UC Santa Cruz but extends far beyond the campus. Emeriti faculty may choose to explore different avenues of research after retirement or to delve even more deeply into the fields they have cultivated for decades. Continuing as members of the Academic Senate, their departments, and their academic communities, some are recalled to the university to teach, while many continue other forms of active service, contributing their experience, knowledge, and wisdom for the intellectual enrichment of the larger community.

The purpose of the Distinguished Social Sciences Emeriti Faculty Award is to increase awareness of the enormous value of emeriti faculty contributions and to recognize and honor all that the division’s emeriti give to the campus and their intellectual and civic communities.

The Distinguished Social Sciences Emeriti Faculty Award is presented to an emerita/emeritus faculty member who has excelled not only in her or his scholarly, educational, or creative endeavors during her or his career and retirement, but who has continued to make noteworthy and meritorious contributions to UC Santa Cruz and the broader community.

Previous winners of this award:

Social Sciences alumni, staff, and faculty (including emeriti) are invited to nominate an emeritus or emerita professor for the Distinguished Social Sciences Emeriti Faculty Award. The nomination form is available here.  

Nominations will be accepted until 5p.m. on May 31, 2019.

Thank you very much for your assistance and participation in recognizing our most exemplary emeriti faculty!

See Also